The Michaels

I know, it’s Valentine’s Day. You’re either clutching a bouquet of Impress The Coworkers roses to your chest or crafting voodoo dolls of exes (I suppose it’s possible to fall into neither category, but not according to my Facebook feed).

As an enormous  and unabashed schmoop, I have always loved Valentine’s Day. The myriad recipients of my construction paper hearts can attest to this fact. It doesn’t have to be just about ❤ LUV ❤ (as I hear the kids are calling it these days) – it can be about all the other kinds of love you have in your life, too. So just as a reminder of that, and hopefully a counter to all the Valentine’s Day and anti-Valentine’s Day battles going on out there, here’s a truly amazing story about love.

The Michaels Bonadio (Jr. and Sr.) are two of my teammates this year. I remember Michael Sr. from the very first kickoff I ever went to, and although I knew he was running for his son, my main takeaway at that impressionable stage of my marathon training was that he HATED running. That year was his 10th consecutive Boston.

Michael Sr. started running after his son, Michael Jr., was diagnosed with Acute Lymphocytic Leukemia at the age of 2. When he did his dedication before our run last Saturday, he told us he started running because when you’re watching your child strapped to a table getting treatments that may or may not work, there’s not much else you can do. He ran those 10 Bostons – finishing at least a few with an IV, and a few more puking his way through the last miles – while Michael Jr. was treated, went into remission, relapsed, went into remission again, and then finally passed his 5 year cancer-free mark.

This year, Michael Jr. turned 18, and pulled his dad out of retirement. He wanted to run Boston with Team in Training, to give back to everyone who supported him, his family, and the research that ensured he could be here to run. Seeing those two out on the course always gives me the warm fuzzies, so in the spirit of the day – at least as I’ve always taken it – I wanted to pass them on 🙂

Have a great night, everyone!

Advanced Vday Craftsmanship

<3LUV<3

Cait

Leave a Reply

