The Playlist

Tomorrow is the Big One. Our 20 miler. So at practice last weekend, our Team Coordinator Extraordinaire and Patient Fielder of Late Paperwork Jillian asked us to come up with our favorite psych-up songs to put on a Community Center playlist.

Natch, this put me in a bit of a tizzy. I have SO MANY! But with the wounds of  four years of Vassar hipster elitism still fresh, I hesitated to show my true musical colors (incidentally, a solid slow run song choice).

 

Yes, I was at one point concerned about receiving this man's scorn.

We’re among friends here, though. This blog is a safe space. So with that in mind, below is my Ultimate Psych-Up Playlist:

Best Yasso Song: “Vivrant Thing” – Q-Tip


Clocking in at just over 3 minutes, this is the perfect song for my treadmill sprint workouts. The only downside is that if you get too carried away, it turns into Best Song to Fall Off a Treadmill To.

If Emo Hipsters Ran: “The District Sleeps Alone Tonight” – Postal Service

Well, we’ve already established that I haven’t the slightest idea what hipsters actually listen to (except that it’s Decidedly Cooler). But I imagine that if it weren’t for the long-term damage done to their vascular system by skinny jeans, emo hipsters might run to this sleepy sleeper of a running song.

Best Song for Heartbreak Hill: Tie Between” F**k You” – Cee-Lo Green and “Break Your Heart” – Taio Cruz

I apologize if any of you are still laboring under the misapprehension that Cee-Lo is really hoping to just put the past behind him and forget his ladylove. STRONG LANGUAGE IS USED. But it perfectly embodies my sentiments at this point of the race, and I’ve been known to drop a few forget-bombs myself on the hills of Newton.

TEAMmate Sean Biggins, a gentleman with impeccable musical tastes and an allegedly face-melting karaoke performance of Total Eclipse of the Heart, once said Luda can do no wrong. He is so, so right. Besides the obvious reference to Boston’s most infamous hill, this song gets me so excited I’ve been known to punch people square in the face when it comes on.

Best Song to Drown Out the BC Crowd: “Party in the USA – ASL Version” – Miley Cyrus

Do yourself a favor and watch that one with the closed captioning on. You won’t regret it.

Once you’ve passed through the hills, the LAST thing you feel like doing is getting sloshed in the face with some BC kid’s Solo cup of Natty Light while Eye of the Tiger plays on an endless loop in the background. Well too bad, sucker. That’s what Mile 21 is all about. Luckily, I’ve watched this video enough that I can just close my eyes and immediately be transported to a land of green screens and a capella level enthusiasm.

Remember What You’re Running/Hometown Pride Song: “Shipping up to Boston” – The Dropkick Murphys

Indeed we are.  Towards the end of long runs, I like to chime in on the “I LOST MY LEG!!!” part.

Remember Why You’re Running/Don’t Put On Your Actual Playlist Unless You Can Breathe & Cry at the Same Time Song: “Skin” – Rascal Flatts

Go on. Try to get through the first verse without choking up. I dare you.

Best Song for the Last Mile: “Dog Days Are Over” – Florence and the Machine

This little guy’s got the right idea. If my legs weren’t otherwise occupied, I’d be doing the very same thing. This is one of the most exuberant songs I’ve ever heard.

(Aside: I would really love it if after I finished the marathon someone congratulated me with a warmly approving “Good runnin’, monkey!”)

After the Playlist There’s the After-Playlist

Oh, don’t worry. You’re not getting out of this without some Ke$ha. I just don’t know if I could be trusted to actually RUN with Ke$ha on my playlist and not break into a mid-race dance party. So instead, I’ll wait til Copley to get my hot pants on and up.

You know what would psych me up even more than Ke$ha covering a Kelly Clarkson song with Taylor Swift singing backup? Your donation!  Just step-touch on over to the right and click the link, and join the scrolling playlist of awesome supporters there.

Leave a Reply

