Things That Make You Go AUYFFF

AUYFFF is:

a) The noise I made while foam-rolling my IT band yesterday;

"SON-of-a..."

b) An acronym for All Up in Your Facebook Feed February, my awkwardly-named campaign to raise $2,000 by the end of February for Team in Training;

c) BOTH

The answer is c, obviously (the answer is ALWAYS c). Listen, you guys. I know you’ve heard how much I love Team in Training a million different ways over the years. But there’s only so much I can make fit into my monthly metaphors. Every practice, I find myself thinking how I wish I could bring you all with me and show you how incredibly awesome it is – awesome enough to make ANYONE want to get up and run 14 miles just for the privilege of doing it with this group.

So, to liven things up during this marvelous month of AUYFF, I’ll be doing recaps of our track Tuesdays and long-run Saturdays. Now you too can experience all the fun of being on TEAM, but with none of the chafing!

Saturday, February 4th 


Distance: 16 miles

Time: I forgot my watch, so I’m going to ballpark it at FORFREAKINGEVER OMG WHY WON’T THIS HILL END (ready to sign up tomorrow, aren’t you?)

Highlight: The Mile 7 water stop team was so determined to secure adequate space for our customary snack buffet that they scrounged a table right up off the side of the road. No runner will be deprived of Swedish Fish on Laurie Staveski’s watch (aaaand you’re back).

Ethan Allen's loss, TNT's gain

Pro Tips

Training for a marathon is a pretty intimidating endeavor. You may find yourself questioning your ability to perform basic activities you thought, as a grown adult, you’d mastered around age 3. HOW DO I DRESS MYSELF? WHAT DO I EAT? WHERE, WHEN, AND HOW DO I GO TO THE BATHROOM?

Luckily we have our wise and TMI-tolerant coaches Sarad and Kelly, along with a battery of running experts, to guide us. This week, they brought in my favorite guest star, nutritionist Nancy Clark. Top 3 Nancy tips, applicable to runners and non-runners alike:

  1. “Eating is not evil. Eat for enjoyment and energy.” (You know how I feel about alliteration)
  2. “To compare is to despair. Imagine you’re on a fantasy island where your body is perfect just the way it is.” (You also know how I feel about rhyming. Although I’m not sure Nance meant to imply that on reality island, you could really stand to lose a few.)
  3. “Any kind of peanut butter is better than no peanut butter. I eat a jar a week.”
Just an afternoon nosh for Nancy

Dedication

This is the part I really wish I could bring you along for. Every Saturday morning, one of our teammates tells us about who they’re running for, and asks us to keep that person in mind. This week, we heard from Chris. She’s running in memory of her mom and best friend from high school and college, Nancy. Nancy was diagnosed with Stage IV breast cancer shortly after the birth of her second son, and the death of her husband on 9/11. She was given two months to live, but thanks to advances in treatment she survived long enough to see her youngest take his first steps. Chris told us how much Nancy, eternal party girl, would have loved watching the marathon and how the thought of her there in pom-pom-waving spirit helps her finish.

The Leukemia and Lymphoma Society funds blood cancer research, but the progress they’ve made over the past few decades has helped people battling all KINDS of cancers. So please consider honoring Nancy, or anyone you may have lost, with a donation: http://pages.teamintraining.org/ma/boston12/cdeschenes.

Thank you!!!

One thought on “Things That Make You Go AUYFFF

Leave a Reply

