Week 3 Training Recap

Happy 2017, everyone! I hope you’ve shaken off the dust and grumbles of 2016 and are moving champagne-full and fancy free into a new year. I spent mine on top of a mountain playing board games with 95% of my favorite people on earth so it was grand indeed.

sunday-river
My liver and I put equal amounts of work into filtering this weekend

I was pretty proud of myself for actually getting all my scheduled runs in this week – I mean, yes, I guess I had LITERALLY nothing else to do, but nothing can be so, so appealing.


Monday (Track) – 8 x 600 @ 2:30, 400 recovery between laps

Actual: 2:25, 2:24, 2:28, 2:29, 2:29, 2:31, 2:27, 2:27 (9.5 miles total)

I don’t know what the geese who populate Lane 1 of the Harvard Track are eating but let me tell you what, it is going RIGHT through them.

 

Tuesday (Easy) – 6 miles @ 8:45-9:15

Actual: 7.5 miles @ 9:15 (6, gym, 1.5)

My pre-run brunch of coffee and 6 handfuls of walnuts probably had Nancy Clark rolling in her tracksuit, and with good reason. I  felt AWFUL (and thought I’d learned my lesson, til I pre-gamed this week’s track workout with a box of wasabi and soy sauce Triscuits).

 

Wednesday (Tempo): 9 miles, 6 @ 7:40

Actual: 9.2 miles, 6 @ 7:33

I ate a respectable 3 lbs of potatoes on Tuesday night, which turned out to be a MUCH better strategy. I also figured out where the 2 and 4 mile marks were on my tempo run route and used those to avoid unnecessary sprinting. It’s amazing to me, now that I’m tracking my pace for the first time, what a difference a few seconds per mile can make. This 7:33 felt completely different (in a good way) than the 7:27 from last week.

 

Thursday (Easy) – 6 miles @ 8:45-9:15

Actual: 4.5 miles @ 8:15 (3, gym, 1.5)

Unrelated to running, but I’ve been trying some “fun” new core workouts and I’d like to take this opportunity to apologize to our downstairs neighbors for the thunderous bellyflops I inflicted on them in the course of trying to get the first exercise here. Turns out if you can barely do a pushup, you should maybe work on that before trying to leap into one from a plank!

 

Friday (Long): 10 miles @ 8:15

Actual: 10 miles @ 8:13 

I was leaving for Sunday River for New Year’s Friday, so I bumped my long run from Saturday to Friday. Despite only having a day between my tempo run and this (and despite covering lit’rally every hill on the course forward and backward) it felt pretty good! It seems that perhaps this dedicated approach to training thing is starting to pay off.

 

Saturday (Easy): 6 miles @ 8:45-9:15

Actual: 5 miles & who even knows, let’s call it a conversational pace

The house we rented was halfway up a mountain, so this run was about 1/3 sliding down it and 2/3 coasting through the slush at the bottom, but it was wonderful because it was with Anna.

As you can tell by the photo montage I’ve put together here, Anna is one of my oldest and dearest friends, and the fact that she is now back from her 7-year surgical residency in Tennessee brings me INEXPRESSIBLE joy (well, inexpressible except through photo montages and turning into a living heart emoji when I see her).  And what Anna and I do when we are happy, or sad, or really anything besides sleeping, is run. Running is what started and cemented our friendship, and after weeks of spending my runs calculating mile times it was wonderful to just throw pace out the window and spend it talking about life with someone I love.

anna

 

Sunday: Rest Day

Actual: Rest Day

I mean, I did go on a vigorous walk up a mountain, but that was 1 hour out of 23 spent draping myself on various items of furniture.


TOTAL MILEAGE GOAL: 46

TOTAL MILEAGE ACTUAL: 45.7

HOW’RE WE DOING: GREAT. Nutritional missteps aside, the hard runs felt challenging but not impossible

and my legs have stopped aching 24/7. I’ve got one more week before the mileage jumps up again, and it feels like I’m starting to get the hang of this. So let’s grab a 10 lb bag of taters and see how it feels!

Leave a Reply

