#TBT: Resolutions in the Long Run

Editor’s Note: Future Caitlin here again! Back again already?? Well YES! Thanks to you we’ve sped by the $3k mark in the span of a week, which means it’s time to take a twirl back in time to my THIRD Boston Marathon. (Want to see what I was writing about back in 2009? Help me hit the the $4k mark to find out!)

The year was 2008. Flo Rida was sweeping the nation, and a 25-year-old Caitlin Deschenes-Desmond was polishing her puns, apparently setting multiple PRs in the span of a day, and preparing for her third Boston Marathon…

2008
Facebook update error or LIGHTING SPEED, you tell me

Are you ready for another marathon metaphor? (If you weren’t, would
you have opened this email? C’mon, you know what to expect by now).

So, it’s the third week of January, which means everyone’s New Year’s
resolutions should be petering out about now, right?  Mine always do.
Usually it’s because I’ve decided that I can’t possibly resolve to
start cleaning my room more than seasonally unless I also balance my
checkbook, start volunteering at the local orphanage, and finally
(FINALLY!) become fluent in Tagalog. Now obviously, this kind of
resolution overload is not the key to making lasting changes, but it
took three marathons for me to finally figure that out.

See, there’s only so much you can concentrate on doing for 26.2 miles.
If I tried to keep track of my mile splits while also maintaining
perfect form and a state of mental clarity and serenity, I would never
leave Hopkinton. I’m honestly barely capable of basic subtraction
while running long distances. So I keep my resolutions simple. The
first year, I wanted to finish. Last year, I tried to avoid wanting to
die for the last 5 miles. And this year, I might see if I can go a
little faster than last year (while also, if possible, avoiding the
Mile  21-26.2 blues). I figure out what I could conceivably manage
given my marathon mental state, and shoot for that. It’s worked out so
far!

You know what else has worked out? Fundraising! By you donating what
you can conceivably manage (given relative states of grad schoolhood
and employment), you’ve managed to raise nearly $4,000 for the
Leukemia and Lymphoma Society! This is the first time I’ve raised my
goal before the marathon, and I can’t thank you all enough. Here’s
another story of long-term goals to show how much good your donations
do. Our Team in Training coordinator, Lisa Beall, recently told us
that her mother was going to have start chemotherapy to treat a
resurgence of the cancer she was first diagnosed with 7 years ago. The
treatment she’s going to have didn’t exist 7 years ago. We may not
have found a cure for blood cancers yet, but the progress we have made
is helping thousands of people live and live well.

If you haven’t made a donation yet but would like to, you can still
either send a check or donate online! For checks, make them out to the
Leukemia and Lymphoma Society and send them to me at 1862 Beacon
Street, Building 1 Apartment 5, Brookline, MA 02445. To donate online,
go to www.active.com/donate/tntma/caitontherun

Thank you all again so much for your generosity (especially All-Star
Donors the Zarrow Family Foundation and Orchards Family Medicine!).

Love and remember to vote on Super Duper Tuesday (seriously? grownups
talking about elections call things Super Duper?),
Cait

Leave a Reply

